Lockport Union-Sun & Journal Online

June 26, 2014

DeSales 'Fame' class decided

Lockport Union-Sun & Journal

Lockport Union-Sun & Journal — DeSales Catholic School has named its second class of Distinguished Alumni Hall of Fame inductees.

The 2014 inductees are: Mary Carol (Bracken) Marotta, St. Joseph's Academy Class of 1950; Sister Mary Loretto (Loretta Hamm), St. Joseph's Academy Class of 1926; David R. Kinyon, DeSales High School Class of 1968; William A. Kirsch, DeSales High School Class of 1950; and Jim and Jack Mullane, DeSales High School Class of 1950.

Inductees will be honored at the second annual Distinguished Alumni Hall of Fame Induction Dinner on Oct. 9 at Classics V on Niagara Falls Boulevard. The master of ceremonies will be Buffalo radio personality and DeSales alumnus John Murphy.

Inductees will celebrate Mass with current students and faculty at DeSales Catholic School, Chestnut Ridge Road, on Oct. 10, when their names will be added to the Hall of Fame display.

For tickets and dinner sponsor information, call the school's advancement office at 433-6422. Chairmen of the Alumni Hall of Fame dinner are Mark Jaekle and Mike Mullane.

The hall of fame was created to honor outstanding graduates of the Catholic schools in Lockport, living or deceased. Inductees embody the teachings of the school's patron, St. Francis de Sales, through their numerous accomplishments in their professional, volunteer and family lives, according to a release from the school. Bearing the motto "Enshrining Our Past, Ensuring Our Future," induction into the Distinguished Alumni Hall of Fame serves as the highest honor bestowed by DeSales Catholic School. 

Proceeds from the annual dinner help to fund tuition assistance grants at DeSales. Nominations to the Hall of Fame were submitted by alumni, parents, relatives, friends and members of the communities served by DeSales.

Graduates of DeSales High School, St. Joseph’s Academy, St. Mary's School, St. Patrick's School, St. John the Baptist School, Lockport Catholic School and DeSales Catholic School are eligible for consideration. A seven-member selection committee includes DeSales alumni from several different decades, as well as current and former DeSales faculty members.