Lockport Union-Sun & Journal Online

July 14, 2013

Changes in local school boards

Lockport Union-Sun & Journal

Lockport Union-Sun & Journal —

Eastern Niagara County school boards will have a new look to them this year, as two will have new presidents and all of them will welcome at least one new member.

In Barker, Randall Atwater was elected president on July 8 and William Smith remained vice president. Smith was re-elected to the Barker Board of Education in the May election, along with newcomer Mary Jo Clemens-Harris. Atwater succeeds Gordon Kenyon, who remains on the board.

Over in Wilson, George Waters was elected as the new president of the board at the July 9 meeting. He succeeds Timothy Kropp, an 18-year board member who lost in his re-election bid in May. Board Member Mark Randall was re-elected and newcomer Amy Phillips won the other open seat.

Newcomers James Schmitt and Donna Lakes were sworn in July 2 at the Newfane School Board meeting. Also, President James Reineke was re-elected by a 4-3 vote to his sixth term leading the board.

"He's been doing the job well the last few years," said Trustee James "Mike" Little.

Kelly Artieri was re-elected to her fourth term as vice president by a unanimous vote.

John Linderman was unanimously re-elected as Board of Education president for Lockport City Schools on July 9, as was Vice President David Nemi. But the board will have a new secretary, as Trustee Diane Phelps was elected by a 5-4 vote.

Phelps, re-elected in May, succeeds Jon Williams who was not re-elected. Trustees Todd McNall and Marietta Schrader, elected to the board in May's election, were sworn in as well.

In Royalton-Hartland, Patricia Reigle was re-elected to her tenth year as school board president and Daniel Bragg was re-elected to his fifth year as vice president. New member Sara Fry was sworn in at the July 1 meeting.

Roy-Hart's next meeting will be at 7 p.m. July 25 at the high school in Middleport. After that, meetings will be held typically on the last Wednesday of the month.

President Mark Ewart and Vice President Joe Miller were re-elected at the July 9 Starpoint Board of Education meeting. The board also welcomed new member Kevin Duffy.

Also, starting with the board's next meeting on Aug. 12, the start time for the meeting will be moved up to 7 p.m. 

Contact reporter Joe Olenick at 439-9222, ext. 6241 or follow him on Twitter @joeolenick.