Lockport Union-Sun & Journal Online

Local News

September 11, 2013

Mongielo wins Conservative nod


Lockport Union-Sun & Journal —

Lockport Town Board

Two members will be returning to the Town Board. Incumbents Mark C. Crocker and Patricia Dufour took both Republican lines in Tuesday's primary, beating first-time candidate Paul R. Black. Crocker finished with 521 votes, followed by Dufour with 487 votes and Black with 228 votes.

Crocker and Dufour campaigned together, highlighting the accomplishments of the Town Board. Crocker said he believed Republican voters saw that both had a plan to maintain the town's financial success.

"We know how to get the job done," Crocker said.

"I am humbled by the support of voters," Dufour, who was appointed to the Town Board in January, said. "I promise to do the best job I can."

Town of Lockport Justice

The Town Board will lose one member. Councilwoman Cheryl A. Antkowiak took all three lines in the town justice race, winning Republican, Democrat and Working Families lines over John J. Ben. Antkowiak, a Republican, won the GOP contest 450-200, the Democrat primary 121-68 and the Working Families election 6-3.

With no general election opponent, Antkowiak will replace the retiring Justice Raymond Schilling. Working for the courts is something Antkowiak has wanted to do for some time.

"I'm very excited, just elated," she said. "It was a lot of hard work, but it was worth it."

Antkowiak said she spent a lot of time speaking with residents. It was her 20 years working in the community, mostly as a member of the recreation committee and as a Town Board member, that drew voters her way, Antkowiak said.

Niagara County Legislature, 15th District (Roy-Hart)

Joshua Walker appears to have wrested his Conservative party line from committee-endorsed candidate Michael Hill, the Republican incumbent 15th District legislator. In the primary, Walker received 28 votes, Hill received 25 votes and there is only one absentee ballot outstanding, from a Royalton resident, according to the Board of Elections. Walker has the Democratic line on the November ballot and Hill has the GOP and Independence lines.

Text Only
Local News