Lockport Union-Sun & Journal Online

November 20, 2013

N-O boys and girls soccer all-league teams announced

Staff Reports
Lockport Union-Sun & Journal


Roy-Hart sophomore forward/striker Emma Lindke started the fall soccer season strong and kept up the pace the whole way through, finishing the year with 19 goals and adding nine assists.

The stellar statistics paid off, as Lindke was named to the All-Niagara-Orleans League first team earlier this month, after the Lady Rams completed a solid N-O season under the guidance of coach Michelle Jennings. Roy-Hart earned the No. 12 seed in the Class B sectional playoffs and upset No. 5 da Vinci in the pre-quarterfinal round, before succumbing to local powerhouse Akron in the quarterfinals.

Junior midfielder Taylor Fry and junior defender Hannah Rausch earned all-league second-team honors for the Lady Rams, while senior Melissa Zakrzewski, sophomore Amber Villella and junior Ashley Bower earned N-O honorable mention.

Newfane senior Savannah Jonathan earned first-team honors after an outstanding season that included 28 goals and 11 assists, as did fellow Lady Panthers senior Sophie Connor, who totaled eight goals and five assists.

Wilson placed four girls on the all-league first team: junior Lauren Austin, senior Angela Goodman, senior Kaylee Stoelting and junior goalkeeper Katlynne Tubo.

The first team was rounded out by Akron’s Paige Buscaglia, Caitlin Regan, Erica Papke and Alex Eckerson, along with Albion’s Kelsey Schmitt.

Newfane freshman defender Mckena Carpenter also earned second-team honors, as did Barker sophomore goalkeeper Lindsey Williams, and Wilson senior forward Holly Rudolph.

Honorable mention honors also went to Haley Richbart and Kelsey Mattoon (Barker), Gabby Sinnott, Alora Sinnott and Natalie Moreland (Newfane), and Rebekah Blasius, Emily Kam, Hannah Johnson and Kayle Neumann (Wilson).

On the boys side, Newfane seniors Mike Lekanka and Patrick Eadie earned first-team all-league honors, as did Wilson junior Zach Sarratori, who helped lead the Lakemen to an upset of Roy-Hart in the Class B sectional pre-quarterfinals earlier this fall.

Roy-Hart placed three boys on the all-league second team: senior forward Alex Stoddard, senior midfielder Lyle Wagner and senior defender Will Johnson. Second-team selections also went to sophomore forward Chad Gilson, senior midfielder Skylar Maurer and junior goalkeeper Tyler Ribbeck (Newfane), as well as senior midfielder Nathan Johnson and senior defender Michael Patterson (Wilson).

Roy-Hart senior goalkeeper Maine Walker and senior defender Ben Werth earned all-league honorable mention, along with Newfane’s Kyle Smith, Andy Kaszuba and Ethan Harpst, and Wilson’s Alex Keil, Reilly O’Lay and Adam Murray.