Lockport Union-Sun & Journal Online

March 12, 2013

Bunn IV, Hackmer high rollers at 2013 city bowling tournament

Jr. Purple Eagles win state youth ice hockey title.

Staff Reports
Lockport Union-Sun & Journal


Dave Bunn IV and Holly Hackmer were the all-events (9 games) champions at the 71st Lockport USBC Association City Bowling Tournament, which concluded Sunday at Brad Angelo Lanes.
Bunn rolled a 2,227 on a steady 247-plus per game clip, while Hackmer, who earned titles in four events, finished with a 1,815 total (202 average). All-events open handicap and women's handicap winner was Carol Wittcop with 2,352.
Mike Zastrow and Hackmer were the scratch singles champions with Zastrow rolling 751 and Hackmer 591. Wittcop was the singles women's handicap winner (774), while Charles Buttery was the singles open handicap winner (799).
Hackmer and Irene Miller teamed up to win both the women's scratch (1,157) and women's handicap (1,538) doubles titles. Brandon and Ron Kipp took the open scratch doubles crown (1,479), while Nicholas and Ron Sementelli won the open doubles handicap title (1,630).
Barb Soemann, Angel Ritz, Pat Stoddard and Jen Grabowski (COMTEC) won the women's scratch four-player team championship with a 2,173. Rick Abbott, Mike Ohol Jr., Bunn and Aaron Verheyn (Verhey's Bunns) won the open scratch four-player team title with a 2,740.
Wittcop & Sons (Carol Wittcop, Amelia Wittcop, Veronica Bedford, Michelle Renna) were the women's handicap four-player champs (2,876), while Marvin's Bar & Grill II (Stan Wesolowski, Chris Clark, Chuck Jagodzinski and Buttery won the open handicap four-player championship (3,033).
Grabowski went to win the women's scratch combine (6 games) title with a 1,236, while Zastrow won the men's scratch combine with 1,509. Women's handicap combine winner was Wittcop (1,591) and the open handicap combine winner was Nicholas Sementelli (1,598).
Jr. Purple Eagles state champs
The Niagara Junior Purple Eagles Pee Wee Major won the Tier II 12U New York State Amateur Hockey Association New York State Championship over the weekend.  The Eagles had a perfect 5-0 record, allowing only five goals in five games at the Amherst Northtown Center.
Niagara defeated the Jefferson Jaguars 3-0, the Binghamton Senators 8-2 and the Brooklyn Aviators 5-1 in three games to qualify for the semi-finals.  They went on to shut out the New York City Cyclones 3-0 to move on to the final round of play in front of a huge crowd of youth hockey fans from all over Western New York who came to support the local team.
The Eagles then soared over the Elmira Jackals in an extremely physical contest to win the championship with a 5-2 victory.
Members of the state championship team are Jason Lupp, Dylan Woods, Jake Strusa, Zach Buchman, Nick Phinney, Chace Woods, Mike DiMaria, Dan Spors, Jacob Peters, Chris Tobey, Joe DiBennedetto, Parker Morrow, Keenan Kasperek, Jake VeRost, Colin Bellinger, Anthony Coty and Johnny Lang. They were coached by Tim Buchman, Ken Kasperek, Don Liddle, Joe DiMaria, Mike Woods and Bob Strusa.