NOCA scholarship winners announced

CONTRIBUTEDNiagara Orleans Counselors Association's 2019 scholarship winners include, from left, Julia Johnston, Taylor Rhinehart, Jenna Sonnenberg, Jenna Klino, Alissa Blount, Samantha Klemer, Nicholas Passanese, Hope Ciotuszynski and Blake Bartholomew.

The Niagara Orleans Counselors Association recently awarded scholarships to 10 high school seniors.

Julia Johnson from Niagara Wheatfield High received NOCA’s Phoenix Scholarship.

Hope Ciotuszynski from Newfane High and Samantha Klemer from Starpoint High received the association’s Niagara University Scholarship.

Alissa Blount from Medina High received the association’s Career & Tech Ed Scholarship.

Taylor Rhinehart from Royalton Hartland High received the association’s Genesee Community College Scholarship.

Jenna Klino from Royalton Hartland High, Nicholas Passanese from Lew-Port High and Jenna Sonnenberg from Niagara Wheatfield High received NOCA Merit scholarships. 

Julia Johnston from Wilson High received the association’s Niagara County Community College Scholarship. 

Blake Bartholomew from Royalton Hartland High received the association's Bryant & Stratton College scholarship.

The winners were chosen based on their grades, attendance, community service and school involvement, according to Carrie Szegda, NOCA co-vice president and scholarship committee chair. 

NOCA is a partnership of school counselors, college representatives and human service agency representatives that meet throughout the school year to network, information share and receive professional development.

The scholarships were awarded at the association’s May luncheon at 80 Main Banquets & Catering in Lockport. They are funded in part by Niagara County Community College, which hosts a college fair every September and donates proceeds of booth rentals to NOCA’s scholarship fund, according to co-president Trina DiVincenzo from Lewiston Porter High School.