Veteran 'vollies' recognized in Middleport

CONTRIBUTEDThese veteran members of Middleport Fire Department were recognized at the department's annual installation banquet for achieving years-of-service milestones: From left, Konstant "Junior" Skomski, 55 years; Darryl Hageman, 60 years; and Dennis McAvoy, 55 years. All were on MFD's Top 10 Responders list in 2018.

MIDDLEPORT — Three veteran volunteer firefighters were recently recognized for their combined 170 years of service to Middleport Fire Department.

The recognition came during MFD's annual Installation of Officers banquet on April 27.

Achieving years-of-service milestones this year were: Darryl Hageman, who has 60 years in with MFD; and Junior Skomski and Dennis McAvoy, both of whom have 55 years in. They all remain among MFD's most active members and each was in the "Top 10 Responders" group for 2018.

The 2019 MFD officers' slate includes:

• Jim Volkosh, fire chief; Ryan Czaja, first assistant chief; Dennis McAvoy, second assistant chief; Sara Burgess, captain; Regan Ginty, lieutenant; Konstant "Junior" Skomski, fire police captain; and Robert Kester, chaplain.



• Darren Burdick, president; Nick Daningburg, vice president; Jessica Kassman, secretary; Ross Hageman, treasurer; Dennis Bailey, belljar chairman; and Tim Burgess and Kevin Czaja, trustees.

All were sworn in by Rebecca Schweigert, Middleport village clerk.



Sara Burgess is MFD's first-ever female captain and previously served two years as lieutenant.

Darren Burdick was elected president for the fifth consecutive year.

Jim Volkosh returned as fire chief, last having held the office in 1991.