Howell Motors Ford Hockey Hall of Fame will add 11

PAUL BATTSON/CONTRIBUTOR Lockport/Niagara Falls took on North Tonawanda last Saturday during Hockey Day in Lockport festivities at the Cornerstone CFCU Arena, downtown.

The prestigious Howell Motors Ford Hockey Hall of Fame class will increase in size from 40 to 51 early next year, with the announcement last week of 11 new members set for induction as the Hall's Class of 2019.


Mike Landers, chairman of the Howell Motors Ford Hockey Hall of Fame Committee and event founder, released the names of the newest inductees at last Saturday's fourth-annual Hockey Day in Lockport festivities at the Cornerstone CFCU Arena.

Named to the HofF Class of 2019 are contributors Joe Dockery, Mr. & Mrs. James Geier, the Union Sun & Journal Sports Department, coaches Doug Puff and Jim Hildreth; and players Michael Marotta, Madison Sansone, Tim Mulvey, Len DeFazio, Ken French and Rich LaTona.


They'll join 40 others in the hall at special ceremonies slated next year at the Cornerstone.

The 15 members of the HofF's inaugural Class of 2016 are founders Dr. James Westhafer, Ralph Lewis DVM and John Gerald York; contributors Dr. Albert G. Connette, Donald Kaufman and Peter Wendel; coaches Vic Cook, Bob Stratton and Bill Watson; and players Richard G. Connette, Terry Dixon, Rick Eberhart, Jim Musto, Tom Snedeker and Jeff Thompson.

The 13 members of the Class of 2017 are players Christian DeFazio, Paul Bailey, Chris Hildreth, Joel Darling, Tom Dockery and Steve Allison, coaches Norman Phillips, Paul Pignataro and Lou Rosetti Sr.; and contributors John Jakubec, William "Ben" May, Richard Rybolt and George "Bud" Timkey.


Last year, 12 were inducted as members of the HofF's Class of 2018. They are contributors Mike Flaherty, the Lockport Lions Club and the John Long Jr. Family; coaches Doug Puff, Paul Earl and Bob Klaus; and players Kyle Allen, Gerry Franco, Mark Goodenough, Don Wynes, Dudley Jackson and Jeff Moran.


The Howell Motors Ford Hockey Hall of Fame was established to recognize people who were instrumental to the success of hockey in Lockport and the surrounding area.